Brihat Parashara Hora Sashtra Chapter 4

Ch. 4. Zodiacal Rāśis Described

1-2. Importance of Hora. The word Hora is derived from Ahoratr after dropping the first and last syllables. Thus Hora (Lagna as) remains in between Ahoratr (i.e. day and night) and after knowing Hora the good and bad effects of a native be known. Śrī Vishnu, the Invisible is Time personified. His limbs are the 12 Rāśis, commencing from Aries. 3. Names of Rāśis. The 12 Rāśis of the zodiac in order are Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces.

4-4. Limbs of Kaal Purush. Kaal Purush (or Time personified) has his limbs, as under with reference to the 12 Rāśis, respectively: Head, face, arms, heart, stomach, hip, space below navel, privities, thighs, knees, ankles and feet.

5-5. Classification of Rāśis. Movable, Fixed and Dual are the names given to the 12 Rāśis in order. These are again known, as malefic and benefic, successively. Similarly are male and female. Aries, Leo and Sagittarius are bilious. Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn are windy. Gemini, Libra and Aquarius are mixed, while the rest are phlegmatic.

6-7. Aries described. The Aries is blood-red in complexion. lt has a prominent (big) physique. It is a quadruped Rāśi and strong during night. It denotes courage. It resides in the East and is related to kings. It wanders in hills and predominates in Rajo-Gun (the second of the three constituent qualities and the cause of great activity in living beings). It rises with its back (a Prishtodaya Rāśi) and is fiery. Its ruler is Mars.

8. Taurus described. Taurus complexion is white and it is lorded by Venus. It is long and is a quadruped Rāśi. It has strength in night and resides in the South. It represents villages and businessmen. An earthy Rāśi, Taurus rises with its back.

9-9. Gemini described. The Rāśi Gemini rises with its head and represents a male and a female, holding a mace and lute. It lives in the West and is an airy Rāśi. It is a biped Rāśi as well and is strong in nights. It lives in villages and is windy in temperament. It has an even body with a green (grass like) hue. Its ruler is Mercury.

10-11. Cancer described. The Rāśi Cancer is pale-red. It resorts to forests and represents Brahmins. It is strong in nights. It has many feet (i.e. it is a centipede Rāśi) and has a bulky body. It is Sattvic in disposition (seen in gods) and it is a watery Rāśi. It rises with its back and is ruled by Moon.

12. Leo described. Leo is ruled by Sun and is Sattvic. It is a quadruped Rāśi and a royal Rāśi. It resorts to forests and rises with its head. It has a large, white body. It resides in the East and is strong during daytime.

13-14. Virgo described. This Rāśi is a hill-resorter and is strong in daytime. It rises with its head and has a medium build. It is a biped Rāśi and resides in the South. It has grains and fire in its hands. It belongs to the business community and is v6thegated. It relates to hurricanes (Prabharanjani). It is a Virgin and is Tamasic (a disposition of demons). Its ruler is Mercury.

15-16. Libra described. Libra is a Seershodaya Rāśi, rising with its head; Libra is strong in daytime. It is black in complexion and is predominant with Rajo-Gun. It relates to the western direction and resorts to land. It is destructive, or mischievous (Dhatin). It represents Sudras, or the 4th Varna. It has a medium build physique and is a biped Rāśi. Its Lord is Venus. Scorpio described. Scorpio has a slender physique and is a centipede Rāśi. It denotes Brahmins and resides in holes. Its direction is north and it is strong in daytime. It is reddish-brown and resorts to water and land. It has a hairy physique and is very sharp (or passionate). Mars is its ruler.

17-18. Sagittarius described. The Rāśi Sagittarius rises with its head and is lorded by Jupiter. It is a Sattvic Rāśi and is tawny in hue. It has strength in night and is fiery. A royal Rāśi, Sagittarius is biped in first half. Its second half is quadruped. It has an even build and adores an arch. It resides in the East, resorts to land and is splendorous.

19-20. Capricorn described. Capricorn is lorded by Saturn and has predominance of Tamo-Gun (a disposition, seen in demons). It is an earthy Rāśi and represents the southern direction. It is strong in nights and rises with back. It has a large body. Its complexion is v6thegated and it resorts to both forests and lands. Its first half is quadruped and its second half footless, moving in water.

21-21. Aquarius described. The Rāśi Aquarius represents a man holding a pot. Its complexion is deep-brown. It has medium build and is a biped Rāśi. It is very strong in daytime. It resorts to deep water and is airy. It rises with its head and is Tamasic. It rules Sudras, the 4th Varna and the West. Its Lord is Saturn, Sun’s offspring. 22-24. Pisces described. Pisces resembles a pair of fish, one tailed with the head of the other. This Rāśi is strong at night. It is a watery Rāśi and is predominant with Sattva-Gun. It denotes resoluteness and is a water-resorter. It is footless and has a medium build. It rules the North and rises with both head and back. It is ruled by Jupiter. This is how the twelve Rāśis, each of 30 degrees extent, are described to evaluate gross and specific effects.

25-30. Nishek Lagna. O excellent of Brahmins, now is a step explained to arrive at the Nishek Lagna, when the natal Lagna is known. Note the angular distance between Saturn and Mandi (Gulika). Add this to the difference between the Lagna House (Madhya, or cusp) and the 9th House (cusp). The resultant product in Rāśis, degrees etc. will represent the months, days etc. that elapsed between Nishek and birth. At birth, if Lagna Lord is in the invisible half (i.e. from Lagna cusp to descendental cusp), add the degrees etc., Moon moved in the particular Rāśi, occupied by her, to the above-mentioned product. Then Lagna at Nishek can be worked out and the good and bad, experienced by the native in the womb, can be guessed. One can also guess with the help of Nishek Lagna effects, like longevity, death etc. of the parents.


2 thoughts on “Brihat Parashara Hora Sashtra Chapter 4

  1. Pingback: The Best Relationship Stories − Your Questions About Scorpio Keeps Coming Back

  2. Pingback: The Best Relationship Stories − Your Questions About Scorpio Keeps Coming Back

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s